Sweet Potato Morning

Image

Sundays are lazy days. Unless a fun festivity calls my name, I usually find a good movie or show to sit down and watch while soaking in the absolute beauty of doing nothing at all. A few Sundays ago I found myself in that exact position but with a hungry belly growling at me. I browsed the kitchen opening the cupboards and fridge at least 5 times each before just whipping out random ingredients that sounded tasty.  To my surprise I think I invented a keeper and a new favorite. It took me all of 10 minutes to throw this beauty together. 40 minutes to cook the potato and it fed me for lunch and dinner!!!

  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1 can of corn or corn cut off the cobb
  • a few handfuls of steamed spinach ( I always keep a bag in the fridge it’s so easy to use!!) 
  • 1 egg – sunny side up  – you can change this however you like your eggs but I LOVE it sunny side up as it created a sort of gravy for the sweet potato
  • 1/2 a red onion diced
  • 1 large roasted red pepper diced.  

I lightly rubbed the sweet potato with olive oil and threw it in the oven at 425 for about 40 min. It is finished when you poke it with a knife or fork and it goes in smoothly. Begin to steam your spinach.

Next add your onion, corn and red pepper to a pan and minimally sauté just to get warm. Put on a plate to the side. Now fry your egg.  Pull out your sweet potato, cut open and mash with some coconut oil, salt and pepper.  Top with your warm vegetables, and finish it all with the egg on top. Enjoy!!!

About healthyeasyfoods

Food makes me happy. Fake food and chemicals being added to my food do not make me happy. I have a growing concern about two major things. 1. The quality of food. 2. Our choice of consumption of food as a nation. With this being said I can understand how an American lifestyle influences fast, easy and cheap to be the three magnet factors to food choice however I think we need to go back to the basics and remember just how easy it is to make good food, good for you without breaking the bank or spending hours sweating away in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in ALL Recipes, Breakfast, Lunch Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

