Healthy Easy Okra Stew

When I said “Dinners Ready!” the first response I got was “Really? Already?!”

Okra

Okra

20130131_192256

Okra Stew

Okra Stew

 

This healthy dish is easy and quick with lots of varied textures and deep flavors. Connect with your inner Ratatouille for this dish just as I did whirling around my kitchen grabbing a little of this and a little of that to create this delicious stew! I served it on top of a pile of hot steaming Jasmine rice.

  • 2 1/2 cups okra – I prefer fresh but you can also use frozen
  • 1 red onion halved and then sliced
  • 1 green and 1 yellow zucchini – cut in half and then sliced into 1/4 inch pieces
  • 2 cups mushrooms
  • 2 cans of diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 red wine – I was drinking Merlot that night so in it went!
  • 2 tsp. Mustard Seed

Throw your Okra into the skillet with the Mustard seed and cover. Wait for those babies to start popping, take your cover off and add your onion, sauté for 4 more minutes. Next throw in the zucchini and mushrooms and sauté for another 3-4 minutes. Now add your tomatoes and let it all simmer together.  After 10 minutes add your wine and let it simmer on low heat for 15-20 minutes. Taste as you go to add salt and pepper. Even if you are super rushed throw all this in the crock pot the night before and let it cook on low all day while you work!  Enjoy!!!

About healthyeasyfoods

Food makes me happy. Fake food and chemicals being added to my food do not make me happy. I have a growing concern about two major things. 1. The quality of food. 2. Our choice of consumption of food as a nation. With this being said I can understand how an American lifestyle influences fast, easy and cheap to be the three magnet factors to food choice however I think we need to go back to the basics and remember just how easy it is to make good food, good for you without breaking the bank or spending hours sweating away in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in ALL Recipes, Dinner Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Healthy Easy Okra Stew

  1. Valerie says:

    This looks fabulous!! I am getting to know my crockpot/slow cooker still; I’ve loved what recipes I’ve tried so far!

  2. Yum! Would you believe I’ve never tried okra? I think that must change. Thanks for this idea!

    • Ooooo girl you must tell me what you think once you’ve tried it. Warning it will feel a little slimy after you’ve washed it but once cooked its delicious. They also sell pickled okra in most grocery stores that I just can’t get enough of!

Leave a Reply

