Stuffed Peppers

Stuffed Peppers are a reason to be creative. You can really work with whatever you have on hand. So much so that when I realized I was out of rice, the idea of adding some pasta into my stuffed peppers actually crossed my mind. However, before I crossed that bridge I decided to just try my stuffed peppers with some wild rice instead of the normal Mexican Rice I would normally make to put into them.  This meal is super easy, colorful and full of delicious vegetables that you can disguise by topping it with lots of yummy melted cheese for the kids. Omit the cheese and you’ve got a great vegan option for dinner!

Stuffed Peppers

Stuffed Peppers

Here is the list of ingredients you will need to have handy to get started:

  • 2 cups wild rice
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped up celery
  • 1 cup chopped up onion
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 cup chopped up mushroomsStuffing Peppers
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 can corn- Drained
  • 1 can black beans- Drained
  • 3 or 4 peppers. (I like choosing one of every color)
  • Optional: 1/2 LB of Hamburger meat or Sausage if you want to add Meat.
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 1 cup shredded cheese- I used a mixture of Mexican blend cheese and Pepper Jack.

To get started simply put your oil in a pan and turn onto medium heat. Add your wild rice and let it cook in the oil for about 5-8 minutes while stirring frequently. Add your celery and onion cook for 3-4 minutes longer and then go ahead and add your vegetable broth and tomatoes. Cover and reduce heat to low and let simmer for about 30 minutes and then add your mushrooms on the top but don’t stir them in.  Cover and let everything simmer for another 15-20 minutes. While waiting, take your peppers and cut off the tops and deseed them. Put in a baking dish standing up.  Take a test bite to make sure your rice is finished. If not add a little more broth, cover and let cook for a bit longer. Meanwhile if you are adding meat to this dish, sauté your hamburger in a separate pan and add all the seasonings to your hamburger or sausage meat. If you are not adding meat then add the seasoning to the vegetables when you add the broth.  Once the rice mixture is finished cooking I add the can of corn and then split the mixture so I can make some with meat and some without. In one half I add my black beans for the vegetarian meal and in the other half I add the sautéd hamburger then I proceed to stuff the peppers with this delicious smelling concoction. Top with your cheese and place in the oven at 375 for about 20 minutes until your cheese turns that delicious golden color on top. Serve hot and enjoy!!!

 

-Remember if you don’t have all these ingredients on hand be creative! You can substitute rice with quinoa, mushrooms for broccoli, beans with chic peas……all kinds of ideas!!!

 

About healthyeasyfoods

Food makes me happy. Fake food and chemicals being added to my food do not make me happy. I have a growing concern about two major things. 1. The quality of food. 2. Our choice of consumption of food as a nation. With this being said I can understand how an American lifestyle influences fast, easy and cheap to be the three magnet factors to food choice however I think we need to go back to the basics and remember just how easy it is to make good food, good for you without breaking the bank or spending hours sweating away in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in Dinner Recipes, Lunch Recipes, Vegan Meal, Vegetarian Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

