Weekend Whisk Away

This was a fabulous fall weekend.  Mid way through the week my sweetheart asked me if I would like to go scouting for turkeys with him. Turkey season starts here next weekend and he is more determined than ever that he is going to shoot himself a Turkey for this years Thanksgiving. Being a vegetarian myself, it may seem a little odd that I jumped at the opportunity, however, it’s not the circle of life I have issues with, it’s the way we mass produce our meat these days which has me shunning store packaged meats. Hunting for your meat just has something that feels right about it.  I grew up watching every meal come from our backyard, a place where it didn’t feel like fall until you started seeing deer heads hanging from every driveway you passed.  Aww the nostalgia.  My whole family would venture up to our log cabins in the woods where the men would skin and break down the deer into parts.  Inside all the girls and women would stand around a big table cleaning up the cuts of deer, clearing away as much sinew from the meat as possible so it wasn’t tough and delegating meat into freezer bags.  Every half hour or so Nana would throw a few fresh cuts of the meat into a skillet that sat atop a piping hot wood stove, adding some sliced onions and garlic powder, you couldn’t help but get hungry as the smell over took the small kitchen.  I would always grab a piece of bread and make a fresh venison sandwich.  Each deer was a gift.  It meant that our freezers would be stocked with meat for the winter and we didn’t have to worry about how expensive meat was at the grocery store. The deer heads would hang for the birds and other animals until next years hunting season. The circle of life. The way it should be.

With all these memories zooming around I said Yes to the trip and early Saturday morning off we went venturing up into the woods.

You can't see me!

Channeling my inner tree. You can’t see me! 

We saw lots of wildlife on the way up to our spot, all posted up on private property. Especially in one particular grassy area that was labeled the Magical Meadow. The animals knew they were safe.  I swear they were flapping around, gobble singing a turkey version of MC Hammers “Can’t touch this.”

Magical Meadow

Magical Meadow

We spent a few hours combing the sides of some hills and trying to be as quiet as possible  while our feet loudly crunched the autumn leaves that had fallen off the trees.  We had no luck in finding turkey’s beyond the Magical Meadow but it was still a beautiful start to our weekend.  Fingers crossed for my babe for next weekend. He’s been working so hard on perfecting his turkey sounds. If ya can’t beat em’ …join em? Can’t touch this …..

Hunting

Hunting

 

 

About healthyeasyfoods

Food makes me happy. Fake food and chemicals being added to my food do not make me happy. I have a growing concern about two major things. 1. The quality of food. 2. Our choice of consumption of food as a nation. With this being said I can understand how an American lifestyle influences fast, easy and cheap to be the three magnet factors to food choice however I think we need to go back to the basics and remember just how easy it is to make good food, good for you without breaking the bank or spending hours sweating away in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in ALL Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

