Money is Tight. Save a life.

I changed my views on eating meat 4 years ago.  Instantly, I hear a big majority of you booing and shouting a chant of BACON!!! BACON!! in hopes that it will bring me back to the meat eater side. It won’t. My husband is still a ravenous carnivore and I’ll gladly cook his bacon without so much as a second thought to shoving a piece in my mouth. It just doesn’t appeal to me anymore. 

   I grew up on a farm with pigs, chickens, turkey’s, and every once in awhile a cow. Add the seasonal deer my family would shoot and that was our complete meat collection to get us through the year.  I’ve watched as every one of these animals have been slaughtered and packaged for our freezer and I didn’t blink an eye until it was time to see the pig get butchered. Maybe you’ve heard at some point that pigs are smart animals, which is why it was the hardest to watch. They can sense something is coming, you can see their fear. 10 years old and there I was, distracting a group of pigs while I watched my uncle get behind Porky and quickly slice his throat from one side all the way to the other, ending his desperate squeals. Porky was then hung upside down from a huge backhoe and skinned. There he hung, his skin creating a mirror image of his body, it looked like two pigs were grasping each others hooves, holding on for dear life so they wouldn’t fall from the backhoe. I watched all this happen and STILL ate meat. 

Fast forward 12 years and now I am living in one of the best cities in the US, San Diego and no longer eating farm raised meat or vegetables. I began developing ovarian cyst and my hormone levels become a huge reason for concern. It didn’t take long to put two and two together that the only major change I had made was the quality and source of my food. I began learning what goes into a mass produced animal even before it is slaughtered and it is ghastly. 70% of all antibiotics in the United States are used on Livestock. (www.ucsusa.org) Now imagine what goes into your meat afterwards to increase coloring and longevity on the shelf? Something internal clicked and cemented that eating meat just wasn’t worth sacrificing my health anymore to indulge and continue to be ignorant to these blatant facts that bacon was no longer just bacon. So here I am, 4 years into being a vegetarian and I haven’t had a single cyst or problem with my hormones since.  cOINKcidence? I think not.  

An added bonus to not having to visit the doctor every few months was that I began saving a ton of money. No more $8 for a lb of bacon or $12 for two pork chops, $22 for a pork loin. Beef and chicken are not cheap either. I would cringe as I looked at the meat prices. A weeks worth of meat  was costing over $100 and that was just for the 2 of us! This week, I walked happily out of the grocery store carrying my 7 bags stuffed to the rim with fresh vegetables. Oh the glory i felt for having only spent $42.35 on an entire weeks worth of healthy, fresh food. I couldn’t wait to use it for so many different creations. Oh yea and I saved a life or maybe two. We’ll call them Miss Piggy and Wilbur.  Th Th Th That’s all folks. 

$42.35 for an entire weeks worth of Groceries

$42.35 for an entire weeks worth of Groceries

About healthyeasyfoods

Food makes me happy. Fake food and chemicals being added to my food do not make me happy. I have a growing concern about two major things. 1. The quality of food. 2. Our choice of consumption of food as a nation. With this being said I can understand how an American lifestyle influences fast, easy and cheap to be the three magnet factors to food choice however I think we need to go back to the basics and remember just how easy it is to make good food, good for you without breaking the bank or spending hours sweating away in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in Budget at a Glance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

