Think about it Thursday

IMG_20141022_104930-1

I have about 45 minutes to post this blog under this title before it doesn’t make sense. “Think about it Thursday.”  I’ve been thinking about it all day and now I just need to spit it all out.

A painter uses many different types of brushes and paints to create a variety of textures and looks.

I am noooo painter. Trust me, my husband will gladly attest I shouldn’t be allowed to paint even a flat, giant,  single wall because somehow, I will end up with paint on the two adjoining walls, ceiling, floor AND I will have partially painted myself. What can I say? I go color happy.

No no a painter I am not. Sorry to disappoint you Sam I am.  Mmm but I do like green eggs and Ham with tarragon, allspice and a little jam. Whoa ok enough with the Dr. Seuss. Let me get to the point (finally I know) …The Importance of Stocking a Kitchen for Healthy Eating.

Spices, Herbs, Oils and Vinegars. I swear I wasn’t trying to go all Dr. Seuss on that one again, it just happens to rhyme, but these four things can add an infusion of flavor on so many different levels when you learn to play with them. Olive Oil, which is common, truffle oil, red wine vinegar, balsamic vinegar, peanut oil, sesame oil (one of my favorites)   fish sauce, anchovy oil, ….oh the list goes on and on. Don’t get me started on spices and herbs. Ok, ok just a few. Cumin, lemon pepper, basil, oregano, saffron, fennel, cilantro, mint, nutmeg, thyme, dried mustard, crushed red pepper, rosemary, Garlic Ohhhhh Garlic.

IMG_20141022_102438

Make a mental note of what resides in your cupboards and cabinets. Make a commitment to less pre-packaged, quick substitute foods. I have rare exceptions but usually my rule of thumb is usually if it comes in a box, or plastic packages I don’t purchase it.

I constantly keep our starches stocked with lentils, white rice, wild rice, arborio rice, pasta, potatoes, quinoa and cous cous.  These can help pull any meal together.

IMG_20141022_103837-1

Next keep the veggies drawers always stocked with the standard, celery, carrot, lettuce, spinach, cucumbers, and whatever else may be in season.

IMG_20141022_103230

Add a little dash of this, a little dash of that, go explore! Find your inner Christopher Columbus or Picasso. Paint away with your ingredients.

 

 

 

 

 

About healthyeasyfoods

Food makes me happy. Fake food and chemicals being added to my food do not make me happy. I have a growing concern about two major things. 1. The quality of food. 2. Our choice of consumption of food as a nation. With this being said I can understand how an American lifestyle influences fast, easy and cheap to be the three magnet factors to food choice however I think we need to go back to the basics and remember just how easy it is to make good food, good for you without breaking the bank or spending hours sweating away in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in ALL Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

