Best Bean Soup

flooded-front-yard

It’s been raining non-stop here in our normally sunny San Diego, which means I have absolutely no desire to drag my 15 month old and myself out, especially to the grocery store which requires lugging it all back inside through several trips.

With that being said, I stared longingly into my fridge and cupboards yesterday wondering what I could whip up for dinner with what little I had on hand.

The result: An amazing pinto bean soup. It was a hit with all three of us. My husband the meat eater, myself the vegetarian and my picky child.

If you’re looking for a simple, healthy and filling dinner, look no further. I present

PINTO BEAN SOUP:

  • 1LB dried pinto beans (soaked, rinsed and drained)
  • 2 cups chopped green cabbage
  • 3 carrots diced
  • 1 small yellow onion roughly chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped frozen spinach
  • 1 TBSP paprika
  • 1 TBSP garlic powder
  • 1 TBSP cumin powder
  • 1 TBSP oregano
  • 1/2 TBSP chile powder
  • 1 TBSP Salt
  • 1 1/2 TBSP Better than Bouillon Vegetable Paste
  • 6-8 cups of water
  • 2 tsp lime juice

To Make this a Meat Lovers Meal: Add 3 cups chopped Ham ( I keep it on the side and my husband just adds it into his soup before serving)

Begin by slightly sautéing carrots and onions in saucepan, after two minutes add all seasonings and sauté for an additional 2-3 minutes.  Now go ahead and add your water, pinto beans, and vegetable paste and stir. Bring to a simmer and cover for 1 1/2 hours. Open and add your cabbage and cook for an additional half hour. Scoop 3 cups of entire mixture into a deep measuring cup and use your immersion blender to thicken. Once blended add back into your soup and add frozen spinach and the squeeze of half a lime. Cook for another 10-20 minutes  season with salt and pepper and serve topped with chopped cilantro.pinto-bean-soup

www.myhealthyhomechef.com

About healthyeasyfoods

Food makes me happy. Fake food and chemicals being added to my food do not make me happy. I have a growing concern about two major things. 1. The quality of food. 2. Our choice of consumption of food as a nation. With this being said I can understand how an American lifestyle influences fast, easy and cheap to be the three magnet factors to food choice however I think we need to go back to the basics and remember just how easy it is to make good food, good for you without breaking the bank or spending hours sweating away in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in ALL Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Best Bean Soup

  1. Ffany says:

    Yum!! Love whipping up magic from kichen scraps!

Leave a Reply

