Food Labeling Madness

groceryfail

My emotions got the best of me today. I got angry. Soon followed by frustration. Aggressive waves of disbelief and disgust continued to slap in my mind all day. The reason behind my anger isn’t something new. The anger itself, yes, but not the reason.

Words  and Phrases like NO High Fructose Corn Syrup, Antibiotic free, hormone free, free range, rBST free slapped my train of thought all day.  Funny how the word “free” normally has such positive connotations, but next to those ugly words, its positivity falls short.

Why do we have to worry if our meat is hormone free? Or if milk came from cows not treated with rBST? rBST? No that’s not a typo. I just had to say it again. Who the hell besides the person who syntesized it, the farmers who use it, and the milk now labeling it, knows WHAT THE HELL rBST is?? Well I do, since I had to educate myself on what possibly could be happening to my milk and creeping into my consumption. Actually on an incredibly sad level, more people these days probably know what rBST stands for and represents. It’s been banned in European countries, declared unsafe, linked to several health upsets and yet still, IT’S FRIGGEN LEGAL in the US. What more do we need before this product is intolerable? Why is this even close to acceptable?

Check out this article by Dr. Edward Group for more detailed and cited information on Bovine Growth Hormone and our health :http://www.globalhealingcenter.com/natural-health/8-shocking-facts-bovine-growth-hormone/

RBST is just one of the many, many, many problems we are facing in the food industry. Our food has become industrialized. Once upon a time it was categorized as the hunters and gatherers growing into the butcher, the baker, the farmer. Now it’s an industry. Names like Monsanto come to mind when we question where our food originated.

Labels everywhere boast Hormone Free, Non-GMO, no artificial colorings, pesticide free, Bpa Free, etc. You get the point.  It’s sickening. The pleasure in seeking out my food feels tainted.

“The first dish on the menu that catches my eye reads “hormone-free chicken roasted on the rotisserie.” I know the reference to hormones is meant to sound like a good thing. I know they want me to think well of this chicken and the blameless life it has led, so far from the medicine cabinet. But the truth is I don’t want to hear about hormones on a menu, even if the references is in the negative.” “The Man Who Ate The World” by Jay Rayner

The thought of added Hormones in food is a turn off. A giant, smelly, piece of fish gone bad kind of turn off.  Should’nt the idea to create such artificial means of food creation stopped at a thought? Has food science gone too far? Work through me with this. I have a lot of questions. It just doesn’t make sense. Food is life. Why have all these awful chemicals become such an integral part of our food systems?

When you think about good food, your senses want to be on the happiest merry go round of their life.  You want to see a beautifully red tomato, smell ripeness, feel tenderness, taste it’s sweetness.  Instead we are losing that culture because we are being re-set to distinguish our food by labels.

Do we even trust the labels when we are splurging for the organic?

How did we get to this point? What have we lost in the process?

Interesting: Today show features a story about increase in cancer http://on.today.com/2kSoKMJ

Watch the trailer for COOKED. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=epMAq5WYJk4

 

 

 

About healthyeasyfoods

Food makes me happy. Fake food and chemicals being added to my food do not make me happy. I have a growing concern about two major things. 1. The quality of food. 2. Our choice of consumption of food as a nation. With this being said I can understand how an American lifestyle influences fast, easy and cheap to be the three magnet factors to food choice however I think we need to go back to the basics and remember just how easy it is to make good food, good for you without breaking the bank or spending hours sweating away in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in ALL Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

