Shishito Pepper Roulette

shishito-peppers

Hands down one of the easiest, tastiest appetizers you can put out for guest in a zip!

Always a good conversation starter too, because guest are sure to inquire more about these tasty looking peppers when they see them sitting, glistening with lime juice. “Are they hot?” is sure to be asked.  Typically no. However, see the above title of the blog. Pepper Roulette.  They earned this name after serving these to my mother in law, who we assured over and over again, they are NOT spicy.  The first one she bit into set her mouth on fire.  I was watching her face turn red and eyes water and I still  didn’t believe her.  I’ve made them a bunch of times and NEVER had gotten a spicy one before. I had to actually finish the one she bit into and then I fully felt her pain.

Now that you’ve been warned, don’t be a weenie and go try them. I promise, the majority of the time you will get a delicious, chared, sweet pepper.  If  by chance you do get the spicy one just remember you can’t fully appreciate all the good without a little bad  ;-).

  • 1 bag of Shishito Peppers (I find them at Trader Joes or local farmers markets)
  • 1 lime
  • a tsp of Kosher Salt
  • a tsp of Olive Oil

Heat up your cast iron pan until a drop of water sizzles off of it. Add oil and wait 30 seconds. Add Shishito Peppers and let cook for 3 minutes stirring occasional and letting them get a nice char/blister. Squeeze one half of the lime over the peppers while they are cooking and char for another 2 minutes. Remove from pan onto a plate and squeeze the other half of the lime all over them and salt. Serve up and play a little pepper roulette!

 

 

To learn more about services offered including Destination Dates, Meal Prep and Planning, Personal Chef Catering and Event Catering please visit :www.myhealthyhomechef.com

About healthyeasyfoods

Food makes me happy. Fake food and chemicals being added to my food do not make me happy. I have a growing concern about two major things. 1. The quality of food. 2. Our choice of consumption of food as a nation. With this being said I can understand how an American lifestyle influences fast, easy and cheap to be the three magnet factors to food choice however I think we need to go back to the basics and remember just how easy it is to make good food, good for you without breaking the bank or spending hours sweating away in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in ALL Recipes, Appetizers, Snack Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment