Lebanese Squash with Spicy corn salsa

Start the grill. Right now. Ok, ok I’m being demanding but these were too good and I’m excited to share.

I had the luxury of roaming around my dearest friend, Jules, garden a few days ago and it was beautiful. We saw baby peppers, kale, basil, beans, squash blossoms and more. Gardens are a happy place for me if you can’t tell. I still think my favorite childhood book   and movie is The Secret Garden.

Anyways, I’m off topic. Go figure. But I must hurry because you’ve started the grill and your coals are hot.

Jules gave me two gorgeous squash which I later looked up, to learn were Lebanese summer squash. So here is what I whipped up with those beauties:

 

lebanesesquashroundsRecipe is as follows:

Slice Squash into rounds thick 1/2in slices.

Mix 1/4 olive oil with 1/4 tsp of each garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, paprika, salt and pepper.  Brush each side of each round with a little of this olive oil mixture.

Set Aside until Grill is ready.

Make Salsa:

  • 1/2 cup grilled corn cut off the cob or 1/2 cup canned corn.
  • 1/2 cup roasted red pepper chopped up
  • 1/4 hatch green chile chopped up
  • a pinch of garlic salt and pepper

Mix all ingredients and let it sit until ready to use.

Grill each round 2-3 minutes on each side until soft and slightly charred. Top with salsa and crumbled feta. Enjoy this healthy meal!!

Ingredients:

  • olive oil
  • onion powder
  • garlic powder
  • paprika
  • salt
  • pepper
  • garlic salt
  • green chile
  • roasted red pepper
  • corn
  • squash
  • feta cheese

 

 

About healthyeasyfoods

Food makes me happy. Fake food and chemicals being added to my food do not make me happy. I have a growing concern about two major things. 1. The quality of food. 2. Our choice of consumption of food as a nation. With this being said I can understand how an American lifestyle influences fast, easy and cheap to be the three magnet factors to food choice however I think we need to go back to the basics and remember just how easy it is to make good food, good for you without breaking the bank or spending hours sweating away in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in ALL Recipes, Appetizers, Dinner Recipes, Vegetarian Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment